ACTFL Celebrates Achievement in Language Education


ACTFL and Language Connects Foundation (LCF) are pleased to announce the 2023 recipients of the ACTFL & LCF Professional Awards, an annual program recognizing outstanding contributions to the field of language education.

These awards were presented in Chicago on Friday, November 17, as part of the ACTFL 2023 Annual Convention & World Languages Expo. The ceremony this year included two new awards which were introduced in early 2023, the ACTFL/LCF Award for Excellence in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in the Classroom, and the LCF/Klett Award for Sustainable Development in the World Language Classroom.

The following ACTFL & LCF Professional Awards were granted:

  • ACTFL Leo Benardo Award for Innovation in K-12 Language Education: Vesna Dimitrieska, Indiana University-Bloomington
  • ACTFL-NFMLTA/MLJEmma Marie Birkmaier Award for Doctoral Dissertation Research in World Language Education: Ye Shen, The Ohio State University
  • ACTFL Nelson Brooks Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Culture: Rebekah Bray Rankin, Lexington High School, MA
  • ACTFL Edwin Cudecki Award for Support for Language Education: Mathieu Ausseil, French For All
  • ACTFL/LCF Award for Excellence in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in the Classroom: Daniel Verdugo, Huron High School, MI
  • ACTFL Global Engagement Initiative Award:
    • The Chinese Program at University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire; accepted by Kaishan Kong
    • Advanced Spanish Service Learning: Migration, Asylum, and Human Rights at the Border; accepted by Vivian Brates, Stanford University (CA)
    • Glocal Engagement: the Critical Virtual Exchange and the Linguistic Landscape Fieldwork; accepted by Liling Huang, Boston University (MA), University of Buffalo (NY)
  • LCF/Klett Award for Sustainable Development Education in the World Language Classroom:
    • Kathleen Forrester, University of Michigan
    • Heidi Lechner, Libertyville High School, IL
    • The Global Classroom Project in Fairfax County Public Schools, VA; accepted by Beatrix Preusse-Burr and Andrea Martin-Jones
  • ACTFL-NYSAFLT Anthony Papalia Award for Excellence in Teacher Education: Kelly Arispe, Boise State University, ID
  • ACTFL-NFMLTA/MLJ Paul Pimsleur Award for Research in World Language Education: Oana Costache, Dutch Center for Language Education; Eva S. Becker, University of Cologne (Germany); and Thomas Goetz, University of Vienna (Austria)
  • ACTFL Wilga Rivers Award for Leadership in World Language Education (Postsecondary): Aleidine (Ali) Moeller, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • ACTFL Florence Steiner Award for Leadership in World Language Education (K-12): Mark Linsky, Savannah-Chatham County Public School System, GA
  • ACTFL/IALLT Award for Excellence in World Language Instruction Using Technology (K-12): Chrissy Roe, Spain Park High School, AL
  • ACTFL/Cengage/IALLT Postsecondary Award for Excellence in World Language Instruction Using Technology: Bobby Hobgood, University of North Carolina-Charlotte
  • ACTFL Melba D. Woodruff Award for Exemplary Elementary World Language Program: Metropolitan School District of Lawrence Township, IN; accepted by Shawn Smith, Superintendent of MSD of Lawrence Township (IN)

The ceremony opened with remarks by ACTFL Past-President Victoria Russell and featured acknowledgment of the 2023 Research Priorities Grants recipients, presentation of the 2023 NNELL Award for Outstanding Support of Early Second Language Learning as well as the Language Learning for Children Special Interest Group's Dr. Patricia (Pattie) Davis-Wiley Award.

Learn more about the ACTFL & LCF Professional Awards program. The call for nominations, including self-nominations, will reopen in Spring 2024.