ACTFL Thank you Senator Schatz @brianschatz for supporting the Seal of Biliteracy and introducing the Senate version of t… t.co/YevBQWY785
ACTFL How can we actively differentiate learning strategies, assessments, program options, and policies to support ALL la… t.co/QTjfuwA6oI
ACTFL The ACTFL store is having some minor technical difficulties. If you are experiencing issues with your orders, pleas… t.co/hTL5ui0Cox
Print This

ACTFL Recognizes Outstanding Achievements In Language Education

CONTACT: Lisa Campo
(703) 894-2900 x119

BOSTON—The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) recognized outstanding contributions to the field of language education with an award presentation on Friday evening, Nov. 18, at the 2016 ACTFL Convention & World Languages Expo in Boston.

ACTFL Past-President Jacque Bott Van Houten presided over the awards ceremony, which was held in honor of 2016 ACTFL President Pete Swanson. The following awards were presented:

Global Engagement Initiative Recognition Awards

  • Integrating Spanish and Health in Nicaragua, Miami University, Oxford, Ohio
  • Educando Vidas and Fowlerville High School Partnership, Fowlerville, MI
  • Reading to Play, Playing to Read, Duquesne University
  • Stanford Language Center & International Institute of the Bay Area, Stanford University
  • Students Teaching Students: Elementary Spanish Program, Norman High School, Norman, OK

ACTFL Edwin Cudecki Award for Support for Language Education: David L. Boren, President, University of Oklahoma

ACTFL/CENGAGE Learning Faculty Development Programs Award For Excellence In Foreign Language Instruction Using Technology With IALLT (Postsecondary): Satoru Shinagawa, Kapiolani Community College (University of Hawaii) and Betty Rose Facer, Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA

ACTFL-NYSAFLT Anthony Papalia Award For Excellence In Teacher Education: Scott Kissau, University of North Carolina, Charlotte

ACTFL-NFMLTA/MLJ Paul Pimsleur Award For Research In Foreign Language Education: Tara Fortune and Diane Tedick, CARLA, University of Minnesota

ACTFL Florence Steiner Award For Leadership In Foreign Language Education (K–12): Greta Lundgaard, Plano Independent School District (Retired)

ACTFL Wilga Rivers Award For Leadership In Foreign Language Education (Postsecondary): Bridget Yaden, Pacific Lutheran University, Tacoma, WA

ACTFL-NFMLTA/MLJ Emma Marie Birkmaier Award For Doctoral Dissertation Research In Foreign Language Education: Sarah Young Knowles, American University, Washington, DC

ACTFL/Leo Benardo Award For Innovation In K–12 Language Education: Katrina Griffin, North County High School, Glen Burnie, MD

ACTFL Nelson Brooks Award For Excellence In The Teaching Of Culture: Paula Garrett-Rucks, Georgia State University, Atlanta, GA

ACTFL Award For Excellence In Foreign Language Instruction Using Technology With IALLT (K–12): Elba Ocando, Canterbury School, St. Petersburg, FL

ACTFL Melba D. Woodruff Award For Exemplary Elementary Foreign Language Program: Providence Day School, Charlotte, NC

Learn more about ACTFL’s professional awards.

About ACTFL:

The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) is the national association for language education professionals from all levels of instruction and representing all languages. With more than 13,000 active members, ACTFL provides innovative professional development opportunities, acclaimed training and certification programs, and widely cited books, publications, scholarly journals, research studies and language education resources, including Foreign Language Annals and The Language Educator magazine. As part of its mission and vision, the organization provides guidance to the profession and to the general public regarding issues, policies, and best practices related to the teaching and learning of languages and cultures. ACTFL is a leading national voice among language educators and administrators and is guided by a responsibility to set standards and expectations that will result in high quality language programs.

Tuesday, November 22, 2016