ACTFL Viewing blended learning practices through the lens of instructional technology can show us how to deepen student l… t.co/goWCzKJw0g
ACTFL Between 2010 and 2017, the number of native Telugu speakers in the US surged 86%—the largest uptick in a foreign la… t.co/inI2Iebunk
ACTFL New research on phonaesthetics, the study of what makes certain sounds beautiful, sheds light on why some words sou… t.co/NURSRiuHW4
Print This

ACTFL Launches 2005: The Year of Languages at Annual Conference

CONTACT: Steve Ackley

December 6, 2004, Alexandria, VA – More than 5300 foreign language educators celebrated the kick-off of 2005: The Year of Languages at the 38th Annual Meeting & Exposition of the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages, November 19-21 in Chicago, IL.  Addresses from French Ambassador to the U.S. Jean-David Levitte and U.S. Ambassador Michael C. Lemmon, Dean of the School of Language Studies at the Foreign Service Institute applauded ACTFL’s leadership for taking the initiative to coordinate the year-long campaign to heighten public awareness of the critical importance of language learning. Keynote speaker Chief Red Hawk, co-founder of the United Indian Nation, Inc., highlighted the role of heritage and indigenous languages in American culture.  More information is available at www.yearoflanguages.org.

During the conference, the association announced that members have elected Paul Sandrock, of Middleton, WI, as 2005 President-Elect.  A former member of ACTFL’s Executive Council, Sandrock is the state consultant for World Languages Education at the Wisconsin Dept. of Public Instruction in Madison. ACTFL also used the occasion to announce the winners of the following annual language education awards:

ACTFL-MLJ Emma Marie Birkmaier Award for Doctoral Dissertation Research in Foreign Language Education – Dr. Naoko Taguchi, Akita International University, Japan.

ACTFL Nelson Brooks Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Culture – Dr. Heidi Byrnes, Georgetown University, Washington, D.C.

ACTFL/FDP-Houghton Mifflin Award for Excellence in Foreign Language Instruction Using Technology with IALL– Dr. Tony Erben, University of South Florida, Tampa, FL.

ACTFL-NYSAFLT Anthony Papalia Award for Excellence in Teacher Education – Dr. Helena Curtain, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI.

ACTFL-MLJ Paul Pimsleur Award for Research in Foreign Language Education – Dr, Hiram H. Maxim, Georgetown University, Washington, DC.

ACTFL Florence Steiner Award for Leadership in Language Education: K-12 winner – Peggy Boyles, Putnam City Schools, Oklahoma City, OK; Postsecondary winner – Dr. Robert Terry, University of Richmond, Richmond, VA.

ACTFL Edwin Cudecki International Business Award — Robert M. Hitt, BMW Manufacturing, Greer, SC

Conference attendees selected from a menu of more than 500 program sessions and workshops offering information on a wide variety of teaching techniques and professional development opportunities. They also enjoyed an exhibit hall filled with more than 340 exhibits from companies offering foreign language education products and services.



Monday, December 6, 2004