ACTFL World #language proficiency is essential to U.S. intelligence and communication between its allies. Language progra… t.co/OjIuJzji0H
ACTFL “We are very excited about the success we have seen in our students who are enrolled in the Two-Way program, and th… t.co/y3HKzvBmZD
ACTFL Thank you @jaybeekay518 for sharing your insights on how we can help students tackle misconceptions and guide them… t.co/MY0gX7ZxkL
Print This

ACTFL Announces 2016 National Language Teacher of the Year

CONTACT: Marty Abbott
(703) 894-2900

San Diego, CA—The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) is pleased to announce the 2016 National Language Teacher of the Year has been awarded to Edward Zarrow, a Latin teacher at Westwood High School in Westwood, MA, and a member of the Northeast Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (NECFTL). The award presentation was held during the Opening General Session of the 2015 ACTFL Convention & World Languages Expo in San Diego, CA.

The award for the ACTFL National Language Teacher of the Year is intended to elevate the status of the language teaching profession at the state, regional, and national levels by creating opportunities for recognizing the most accomplished members of the profession. The Teacher of the Year becomes a spokesperson for the language profession in order to increase the visibility of the importance of learning languages and cultures to the general public.

“ACTFL is very proud of the impact that the Teacher of the Year Program has had in bringing national attention to the importance of language education for all students.  It is an excellent example of collaboration in our field from the state to the regional to the national level,” said Marty Abbott, ACTFL’s Executive Director. “It’s exciting to be celebrating our eleventh anniversary of the program this year with the announcement of the 2016 Teacher of the Year in San Diego!”

Abbott continued: “We congratulate Edward Zarrow and look forward to working with him over the next year in his new role as National Language Teacher of the Year.”

The other four finalists for the annual ACTFL National Language Teacher of the Year Award representing the other geographic regions of the U.S. were:

  • Leni Bronstein, Williamsburg Middle School, Arlington, VA; Southern Conference on Language Teaching (SCOLT)
  • Brenda Gaver, East Valley High School, Spokane, WA; Pacific Northwest Council for Languages (PNCFL)
  • Fernando Rubio, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT; Southwest Conference on Language Teaching (SWCOLT)
  • Deana Zorko, Madison West High School, Madison, WI; Central States Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (CSCTFL)

The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) is the national association for language education professionals from all levels of instruction and representing all languages. With more than 12,300 active members, ACTFL provides innovative professional development opportunities, acclaimed training and certification programs, and widely cited books, publications, scholarly journals, research studies and language education resources, including Foreign Language Annals and The Language Educator magazine. As part of its mission and vision, the organization provides guidance to the profession and to the general public regarding issues, policies, and best practices related to the teaching and learning of languages and cultures. ACTFL is a leading national voice among language educators and administrators and is guided by a responsibility to set standards and expectations that will result in high quality language programs.

Friday, November 20, 2015