ACTFL 🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼👇🏼 t.co/3K8c9fsIHc
ACTFL We're accepting MENTEE applications now through May 13 for traditional and distance learning for the next school ye… t.co/XUWkcglwTY
Print This

2007 Teacher of the Year Finalists Announced

CONTACT: Steve Ackley

October 25, 2006, Alexandria, VA – The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) has announced the five regional finalists for the second annual ACTFL National Language Teacher of the Year Award.  The winner will be announced at the November 17 Opening General Session of ACTFL’s November 16-19 conference in Nashville, TN.

Sponsored by publisher McDougal Littell, a division of Houghton Mifflin Co., the award annually recognizes a foreign language teacher at the K-12 level who exhibits excellence in classroom language teaching.  This individual will also serve as a spokesperson for the language profession for the following year.  The conceptual idea of the award was developed through the New Visions in Action project which piloted the selection process in the Southwest region of the U.S.  Initial screening of candidates is performed by each state language association and the state winner is submitted to the regional language conferences.  Committees in the Pacific Northwest, Southwest, Central States, Southern and Northeast regions select the five finalists.  These teachers are then evaluated by an ACTFL Awards Committee consisting of past presidents of the association as well as other representatives of the profession.  The winner will receive a $2,000 stipend.

The five regional finalists are:  Christi Moraga, teacher of Spanish and French at West Woods Upper Elementary School in Farmington, CT; Tracy Veler Knick, teacher of French at Rockledge High School in Rockledge, FL; Gisela (Nina) Holmquist, teacher of Spanish at Nicolet High School, Glendale, WI; Christine Lanphere, teacher of French at Natomas High School, Sacramento, CA; and Terri Carnes, teacher of Spanish at Crescent Valley High School, Corvallis, OR.



Monday, December 25, 2006