ACTFL Recognizes Achievements In Language Education

CONTACT: Erin Whelchel
703.894.2900 ext. 124

ACTFL is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020 ACTFL Professional Awards, which recognize outstanding contributions to the field of language education.

These awards were presented during an online ceremony on Friday, November 20, as part of the 2020 ACTFL Virtual Convention. Award presentations are also available for on-demand viewing via a dedicated playlist on ACTFL's YouTube channel.

The following ACTFL Professional Awards were given:

  • ACTFL Global Engagement Initiative Awards:
    • BYU/KHU Exchange Program, Brigham Young University (UT)
    • Portuguese Flagship Online Summer Programs, University of Georgia & University of Texas at Austin
    • Translation and Interpreting for Asylum Seekers, Knox College (IL)
  • ACTFL/Cengage Postsecondary Award for Excellence in Foreign Language Instruction Using Technology with IALLT: Gay Rawson, Concordia College (MN)
  • ACTFL-New York State Association for Language Teachers, Inc. Anthony Papalia Award for Excellence in Teacher Education: Kristin Davin, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  • ACTFL-NFMLTA/MLJ Paul Pimsleur Award for Research in Foreign Language Education: Kevin McManus, The Pennsylvania State University and Emma Marsden, University of York (United Kingdom)
  • ACTFL Florence Steiner Award for Leadership in Foreign Language Education (K-12): Carmen Scoggins, Watauga High School and Appalachian State University (NC)
  • ACTFL Wilga Rivers Award for Leadership in Foreign Language Education (Postsecondary): Benjamin Rifkin, Hofstra University (NY)
  • ACTFL-NFMLTA/MLJ Emma Marie Birkmaier Award for Doctoral Dissertation Research in Foreign Language Education: Emilia Illana-Mahiques, Cornell University (NY)
  • ACTFL Nelson Brooks Award for Excellence in The Teaching of Culture: Niko Tracksdorf, University of Rhode Island
  • ACTFL Award for Excellence in Foreign Language Instruction Using Technology with IALLT (K-12): Nathalie Ettzevoglou, Alpharetta High School (GA)
  • ACTFL Melba D. Woodruff Award for Exemplary Elementary Foreign Language Program: Anchorage School District (AK)
  • ACTFL Leo Benardo Award for Innovation in K-12 Language Education: Allison Ginn, Frisco Independent School District (TX)
  • ACTFL Edwin Cudecki Award for Support for Language Education: Senator Brian Schatz, United States Senator from Hawaii

Learn more about the ACTFL Professional Awards Program.