Join Now!

Print This

50th Anniversary

Click to DownloadTimeline: 50 years of ACTFL

ACTFL launched its 50th year celebration with an event honoring the leadership of ACTFL over the course of its history. This event was held on Thursday, Nov. 17, 2016, at the Westin Boston Waterfront Hotel. At the event, ACTFL unveiled A History of ACTFL, a comprehensive history written by Past-President Robert Terry.

Speakers included current and past ACTFL leaders: Marty Abbott, Paul Garcia, Eileen Glisan, Pete Swanson, Elvira Swender, Robert Terry, Ted Zarrow, Helene Zimmer-Loew, and Rosemary Feal, Executive Director of the Modern Language Association. View Event Program (PDF)


View Photos          Purchase Book

ACTFL also premiered a commemorative video featuring Robert Terry; 2006 ACTFL National Language Teacher of the Year Ken Stewart; Executive Director Marty Abbott; and the late Leo Benardo, who served as ACTFL President in 1969.

What Our Members Are Saying

ACTFL’s membership is a crucial element of my professional toolbox. As an educator, author, parent, consultant, and language learning advocate, ACTFL’s forward-moving vision and inclusive approach provide me with the knowledge, resources and networking opportunities that I need to expand my horizons and advance in my career. I feel that I belong to a community that works together towards a common goal.

Ana Lomba, Preschool Languages Specialist