For each skill, these guidelines identify five major levels of proficiency: Distinguished, Superior, Advanced, Intermediate, and Novice. The major levels Advanced, Intermediate, and Novice are subdivided into High, Mid, and Low sublevels. The levels of the ACTFL Guidelines describe the continuum of proficiency from that of the highly articulate, well-educated language user to a level of little or no functional ability.

These Guidelines present the levels of proficiency as ranges, and describe what an individual can and cannot do with language at each level, regardless of where, when, or how the language was acquired. Together these levels form a hierarchy in which each level subsumes all lower levels. The Guidelines are not based on any particular theory, pedagogical method, or educational curriculum. They neither describe how an individual learns a language nor prescribe how an individual should learn a language, and they should not be used for such purposes. They are an instrument for the evaluation of functional language ability.

Levels of Proficiency
Turkish Speaking

Written descriptions of speaking proficiency accompanied by speech samples illustrating the features of each major level.

Turkish Writing

Written descriptions of writing proficiency accompanied by writing samples illustrating the features of each major level.

Turkish Listening

Written descriptions of listening proficiency accompanied by authentic speech samples and the functional listening tasks associated with each major level.

Turkish Reading

Written descriptions of reading proficiency accompanied by authentic text samples and the functional reading tasks associated with each major level.