GSA Contract Holder

Print This

The ACTFL/Cengage Postsecondary Award for Excellence in Foreign Language Instruction Using Technology with IALLT

The ACTFL/Cengage Awards are presented annually to recognize excellence in the integration and use of technology in foreign language instruction at the postsecondary level. These awards are the outgrowth of collaboration between ACTFL and the Faculty Development Programs of Cengage Learning, with the International Association for Language Learning Technology (IALLT).

The recipients each receive a $500 cash award provided by Cengage Learning.

Criteria for Selection

  1. Two awards may be made annually:
    1. one to a foreign language educator at the two-year/community college level, and
    2. one to a foreign language educator at the four-year/university level.
  2. Both classroom teachers and administrators are eligible for the award.
  3. The recipient must be a current ACTFL member.
  4. The recipients must have a minimum of five years’ teaching experience.
  5. The recipients must submit evidence of how they have integrated the use of technology into their foreign language courses. Evidence should include objectives and specific strategies using technology that contribute to the attainment of the course goals within the framework of the National Standards for Foreign Languages. Supporting documentation may include letters from students, colleagues, school or institutional officers, and student course evaluations. This documentation may be submitted via a multimedia presentation, i.e., Power Point, a short video, a website, etc.

Procedures for Nominations

  1. Self-nominations are permitted and must be accompanied by a letter of support from the instructor’s school or institutional officer.
  2. Include the following items on the online submission form:
    1. Nominator and nominee information.
    2. Curriculum vitae of the candidate (length must not exceed 10 pages).
    3. Evidence of the use of technology in the course, including a rationale for the use of technology and how its use helped students attain the goals of the course.
    4. Three (3) letters of support clearly explaining the rationale for the choice of this candidate.
    5. Other documentation, e.g., student course evaluations, copies of newspaper articles or other materials, as appropriate.  
  3. No member of the ACTFL Board of Directors or Officer may write a letter of support for any award nominee or actively shepherd the nomination of an award candidate.  If a dossier packet is resubmitted that contains a support letter written prior to the establishment of these guidelines, that letter will be removed from the packet by the Committee Chair.
  4. No member of the ACTFL Board of Directors, Officer, or contracted employee is eligible for nomination for any award while holding these positions.
  5. Letters of recommendation are to be sent to the person submitting the nomination so that they may be included in the complete nomination submission package.


  • Nominations submitted online on or before: May 29.
  • Copies of all documentation pertaining to the winner sent to the ACTFL Executive Director: September 1.
  • Copies of all documentation pertaining to finalist(s) returned to individual(s) who submitted them: September 1.
  • Award Chairperson submits a 200-word statement on why the recipients were chosen: September 30.
  • Winner submits 150-word acceptance remarks to be printed in Awards Ceremony Brochure: September 30.

Candidates will be judged (50 total points) on:

  • Innovative/original approach that integrates technology into course or program. (10 points)
  • Rationale for use of technology to attain learning outcomes. (5 points)
  • Demonstrated improvement of student learning through use of technology. (5 points)
  • Impact on course or program within the candidate’s institution. (5 points)
  • Varied strategies to affirm use of technology. (5 points)
  • Relationship to the framework of National Standards. (10 points)
  • Attainment of projected outcomes. (5 points)
  • Potential for widespread replication. (5 points)

Submit Online

Previous Recipients:

2019: Edwige Simon, The University of Colorado Boulder; 2018: Amber H. Navarre, Boston University; 2017: Mary Toulouse, Lafayette College (PA); 2016: Satoru Shinagawa, Kapiolani Community College (University of Hawaii) and Betty Rose Facer, Old Dominion University; 2015: Senta Goertler, Michigan State University; 2014: Lauren Rosen; University of Wisconsin; 2012: Fernando Rubio, University of Utah; 2011: Michael Shaughnessy, Washington & Jefferson College; 2010: Kevin M. Gaugler, Marist College; 2009: Margarete Lamb-Faffelberger, Lafayette College; 2008: Lara Lomicka Anderson, University of South Carolina; 2007: Gilberte Furstenberg, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Boston, MA and Laura Franklin, Northern Virginia Community College, Alexandria, VA ;  2006: Sue Barry, Auburn University, Auburn, AL;  2005: Donna Van Handle, Mount Holyoke College, MA; 2004: Tony Erben, University of South Florida; 2003: James Pusack & Sue Otto, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA; 2002: Teresa Kennedy, University of Idaho, Moscow, ID; 2001: Anne Green, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh PA;  2000:  Jean LeLoup, SUNY-Cortland, Cortland, NY; 1999: Michael Bush, Brigham Young University, Provo, UT.