GSA Contract Holder

Print This

ACTFL-NYSAFLT Anthony Papalia Award for Excellence in Teacher Education

The Anthony Papalia Award honors a teacher, educator, and author who significantly influenced the lives of countless students and practicing teachers. His tenure at the State University of New York, Buffalo, service to the State of New York through work with the New York State Education Department, and involvement in the New York State Association of Foreign Language Teachers (NYSAFLT) were characterized by selfless dedication to improving the quality of teachers and teaching.

The ACTFL Anthony Papalia Award for Excellence in Teacher Education was established by ACTFL in 1987 to recognize a foreign language educator who has demonstrated excellence in the preparation and continuing education of teachers for the profession. It is supported by the New York State Association of Foreign Language Teachers.

The recipient receives a $500 cash award. The cash award is evidence of the commitment of ACTFL and NYSAFLT to excellence in teacher preparation and to the support of those in our profession who share this concern.

Procedures for the Nominating Organization

  1. Nominations may be made only by current organizational members of ACTFL.
  2. Include the following items on the online submission form:
    1. Nominator and nominee information.
    2. Curriculum vitae of the candidate (length must not exceed 10 pages).
    3. Letters of support clearly explaining the rationale for the choice of this individual.
    4. Other documentation, e.g., copies of newspaper articles or other materials, if appropriate for the award.
  3. No member of the ACTFL Board of Directors or Officer may write a letter of support for any award nominee or actively shepherd the nomination of an award candidate.  If a dossier packet is resubmitted that contains a support letter written prior to the establishment of these guidelines, that letter will be removed from the packet by the Committee Chair.
  4. No member of the ACTFL Board of Directors, Officer, or contracted employee is eligible for nomination for any award while holding these positions.
  5. Letters of recommendation are to be sent to the person submitting the nomination so that they may be included in the complete nomination submission package.


  • Nominations submitted online on or before: May 29.
  • Copies of all documentation pertaining to the winner sent to the ACTFL Executive Director: September 1.
  • Copies of all documentation pertaining to finalist(s) returned to individual(s) who submitted them: September 1.
  • Papalia Award Chairperson submits a 200-word statement on why the recipient was chosen: September 30.
  • Winner submits 150-word acceptance remarks to be printed in Awards Ceremony Brochure: September 30.

Selection Criteria

Maximum number of points for each criterion: 5
Total number of points: 100

Quality of contributions and their relevance to teacher education should weigh heavily in establishing point totals.

A. Teaching (25 points maximum)

  • Courses taught that reflect innovative approaches and that demonstrate change and alignment with current theories and practices.
  • Impact on students.
  • Impact on foreign language programs (may be at the school level, in higher education, or both).
  • Impact on other programs within the candidate’s institution and/or programs in other institutions.
  • Learning materials authored, edited, or produced (including textbooks, computer programs, and other materials).

B. Research (20 points maximum)

  • Research conducted, including classroom action research and qualitative research projects.
  • Publications, grants, and other scholarly activities.
  • Forum of publications and/or presentations.
  • Impact on foreign language education (and other fields, if appropriate).

C. Service (25 points maximum)

  • Range of activities.
  • Within the local institution.
  • Impact on local, state, and regional professional organizations.
  • Impact on national and international professional organizations.
  • Impact on the profession as a whole.

D. Educating Current and Future Professionals (25 points maximum)

  • Range of activities.
  • Number and forum of workshops, presentations, and related activities.
  • Impact on preservice (entry level) teacher candidates.
  • Impact on inservice teachers (accomplished/experienced).
  • Impact on home institution and on other institutions and organizations.

E. Recognition (5 points maximum)

  • Recognition through special honors and awards.

Submit Online

Previous Recipients

2019: No Award Was Given; 2018: Cherice Montgomery, Brigham Young University; 2017: Christina Fei, University of Pennsylvania; 2016: Scott Kissau, University of North Carolina; 2015: Linda Quinn Allen, Iowa State University; 2014: Mary "Sue" Barry, Auburn University; 2013: Richard LaFleur, Arnoldsville, GA; 2012: Bonnie Adair-Hauck, University of Pittsburgh; 2011: Gregory W. Duncan, Interprep, Inc.; 2010: Johanna Watzinger-Tharp, University of Utah; 2009: Anne Nerenz, Eastern Michigan University; 2008: Judith Shrum, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, VA;  2007: Bill VanPatten, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX; 2006: Kathryn Corl, The Ohio State University, Columbus; 2005: Mary Lynn Redmond, Wake Forest University; 2004: Helena Curtain, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI; 2003: Audrey Heining-Boynton, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC; 2002: Renate Schulz, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ; 2001: Marcia Harmon Rosenbusch, National K-12 Foreign Language Resource Center Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa; 2000: Aleidine Moeller, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, NE; 1999: Myriam Met, Montgomery County Public Schools, Rockville, MD; 1998: Carol Ann Pesola Dahlberg, Concordia College, Moorhead, MN; 1997: David C. McAlpine, University of Arkansas at Little Rock, Little Rock, AR; 1996: Eileen w. Glisan, Indiana University, Indiana, PA; 1995: Gail Guntermann, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ; 1994: Lynn A. Sandstedt, University of Northern Colorado, Greeley, CO; 1993: Eleanor Jorden, Bryn Mawr College, Bryn Mawr, PA; 1992: Charles R. Hancock, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH; 1991: Constance K. Knop, University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI; 1990: Edward D. Allen, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH; 1989: Alice Omaggio Hadley, Univer­sity of Illinois at Urbana, Urbana, IL; 1988: Wilga  M. Rivers, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA.